Baseline Magazine – My Work

To start this week of posts I’m going to talk about one of my favourite projects that I did during Art Foundation last year. For it I produced two fictional designs for the front cover of a possible future issue of Baseline Magazine.

We were tasked with creating a theme for the issue before designing the cover so I chose to look into typography and question why it should be produced in conventional ways.

For the first cover I looked at why type should be flat by creating a cover with a 3D effect. This caused the text to be raised from the image when viewed through 3D glasses. I then packaged the magazine in a plastic wallet with some Baseline branded 3D glasses which I created as seen in the above image.

Although the 3D cover was the best received when viewed by my peers due to the excitement of the effect, I myself prefer the second cover that I produced. It questioned why typography had to be on paper through the use of an image which had the question written in Letraset on a brick. I liked it better due to foldout packaging solution I created for it which allowed you to experience the environment in which the text had been placed.

The brick on the front that had the text on was actually a label which, when removed allowed you to open up the packaging revealing the area around the brick on the inside of the flaps.

If you have any questions about this project, leave them as a comment below and I’ll make sure to answer them.

Check out my website to look at some of the other projects I have done.

Leave a Reply

